Wedding Day Reflection: Destress

My mother is a florist (on top of the million other things she does, really-she’s amazing).  She is currently working on flowers for another wedding that is happening this weekend (congrats to you!!), and I’m pitching in where I can.  As I work on some arrangements, under strict guidance of course, I can only think of the bride and if she is stressed or is really sitting back and taking the whole experience in.

When I got my hair done, the hairdresser couldn’t believe I was getting married because I was so calm. I wasn’t freaking out, I was simply taking it all in.  That got me thinking, why freak out? I mean, yea, it’s a big day, it changes the rest of your life, but it’s about you and your partner, it isn’t about the party or if something isn’t right.

 

Don’t get me wrong, I was stressed the month before the wedding (my family and Mister can attest to that! Sorry! :)).  The little things were bothering me (the white’s weren’t the same white, my tan line (rather off-whiteness) wasn’t the same shape as my dress) really, silly little things that I am sure no one noticed.  But it took my Mister to remind me that it was our day, and we only get one, so to simply enjoy it.

And that is what I did.  Our rehearsal was small and intimate, and the dinner was a BBQ in our backyard.  We tested out the garden games for the wedding and had an early night.  I spent the evening frosting cupcakes with my Aunt,  MOH, a very dear friend and the MOH’s hubby.  It was so fun and carefree.

The morning of I woke up around 8 after getting a full 8 hours of sleep.  I wasn’t stressed or worried: at that point, what wasn’t done wasn’t getting done and really, what did it matter if there wasn’t humus for people to dip their veggies in? There was dip! My MOH picked me up for our hair appointment, where it was just the two of us (and Atira!!!) in the shop.  We had so much fun, laughing, relaxing and simply taking in the day.  One of my favorite memories is watching Sara getting her hair curled and realizing how lucky I was to have her as my best friend and MOH (and how darn pretty she was/is).

I was able to get ready surrounded by my incredibly close friends.  We laughed and there was no stress. None, at all.  I loved being able to share a drink with some of the most important women (womyn) in my life.  And being in a room with that much beauty can only make you happy/  I knew I was marrying the right man, I mean, he was the whole reason for the day.  That and I looked good ;).

As I walked down the aisle, there was no one else, just the Mister.  I stopped at the bottom of the aisle with my father and did a little head nod, to let the Mister know everything was okay, I was ready, and to say “Hey, what’s up?” I am sure no one else noticed, but he did, and it set us at ease.   He was/is my guy. I wasn’t stressed, I was so excited, I couldn’t wait to get to the “I Do’s” and to just kiss him! That was the most stressful part, not being able to give him a kiss when I saw him because he looked so darn handsome and I could tell he was nervous (that and it was so sweet when he cried as I walked down the aisle!!!).

But really…thinking about how stressed people become over their weddings…there is no real reason for it.  There are things that need to get done to have the party, but really, no one will remember that the peanut butter brownies weren’t put out (sorry guys…they were amazing though!). They will, however, remember how the Mister and I looked at each other, the love and warmth from the entire party, how comfortable and fun it was, and that is was truly a beautiful day.

So, take a step back from it all, remember it’s only one day and it goes by far too quickly.  Enjoy every second of it, and to the beautiful bride tomorrow: I hope you are totally relaxed and may your day (and lives)  be filled with love and laughter.

 

 

Leave a Reply

